The very feminine Kristen Dress

Scroll down for Danish version /scroll ned for den danske version.

I have sewn and tested the very feminine Kristen Dress by Australian Ann Grose from Designer Stitch. I would not usually wear something with ruffles or a wide skirt, but I really liked the look of this dress and have not regretted sewing it.

sewing blog about testing pdf patterns sewing my own wardrobeKristen Dress is a knee length dress with a wide skirt, fitted bodice and ruffles on the neck and front. There is an option between a sleeve or ruffles at the armhole. I choose to sew the dress without the sleeve, since I wasn’t to keen on the sleeves provided.

Skærmbillede 2017-09-03 kl. 11.58.15The dress is meant to be sewn up in a light, vowen fabric, such as Rayon, silk or light cotton. I choose a black rayon for my first Kristen, but would love to make one i silk, too.

Personally I always make a muslin when I try or test a new pattern. I mean, we all have individual bodies and testing makes sure you get a fit that suits you. With the Kristen the fitting is pretty easy, as you only need to sew up the bodice and fit that. The skirt is pretty wide and forgiving when it comes to fitting, so no need to sew that up.

Another thing that makes the Kristen easy to fit, is that it comes with different cup sizes, ranging from B to DD. There is also very good instruction helping you to choose which one you´ll need. I turnes out to be a straight size 5 with a B cup and didn´t have to make any alterations, except I lengthened the bodice 1″/2,5 cm. That was totally unnecessary, and I will take that of again with the next one.

The Kristen dress is on sale now for a limited time. Do get it now, it is a gorgeous, really well drafted dress and apart from being stylish it is also very comfortable. Win win….

Jeg har syet og testet den meget feminine Kristen Dress af australske Ann Grose fra Designer Stitch. Normalt ville jeg aldrig vælge en kjole med flæser eller skørt med vidde, men jeg faldt for den her kjole og jeg har bestemt ikke fortrudt.

Kristen Dress er en knælang kjole med skørt med vidde, en overdel der sidder til og flæser ved halsen og foran. Der er valgmulighed mellem et ærme og flæser ved ærmegabet. Jeg valgte flæserne, da jeg ikke var alt for vild med de lidt flagrende ærmer.

Kjolen skal sys i let, vævet stof, f.eks viscose, silke eller bomuld. Jeg har syet den i en let, lidt tung fast viscose. Jeg vil virkelig gerne lave en i silke også.

Jeg laver altid en prøve, når jeg tester eller prøver nye mønstre. Vi har jo alle forskellige kroppe og ting der skal tages hensyn til. Det er bare så meget lettere med en prøve og det sikre, at du får den rette pasform.
Det er ret let at tilpasse Kristen Dress, fordi du kun behøver at sy overdelen og tilpasse den. Skørtet er med så meget vidde, at det typiske ikke vil være nødvendigt at sy det op i en prøve.
Mønstret kommer desuden også med forskellige skål størrelser, fra B til DD, og en god vejlening til hvordan du vælger den rette størrelse. Jeg skulle efter skemaet væren en str 5 med B skål og det passede fuldstændigt. Jeg har kun tillagt lidt længde ved taljen, men det havde ikke været nødvendigt og det ryger af ved den næste.

Kristen Dress er på tilbud lige nu og i en begrænset periode.
Det er en super fin, velkonstrueret kjole som er både fin og meget behagelig at have på.

sewing blog about testing pdf patterns sewing my own wardrobe kristen dresssewing blog about testing pdf patterns sewing my own wardrobe kristen dress

Skriv et svar

